Club‎ > ‎History‎ > ‎



In 1976   the  Club  continued  its  many  social  functions  which  were well  supported.  Investigations  into  land  at  Woodstock  Road,  Tonge  Road, the  use  of  the  Conservative  Club  and  an  approach  to  the  A.P.C.M.  were negative  plus  46  circulars  were  sent  out  and  only  5  replies  received.

On 16  February  it  was  agreed  by  the  committee  that  the  100  Club  run by Les  Cousins   for  Cricket  and  Volleyball  would become  the  1000  Club  to  be  run  by  the  Main  Club,  Ron  Smith  then  took  overall  control  of  the  organisation  of  the  new  Club,  with the  help  of  Keith  Drury . The  Club  collected  money from  it's  members  each  month  and  several  prizes  were  drawn,  profit would  then  go  into  the  Club's  funds.  The  1000  Club  collectors  usually collected  from  their  own  road  and  maybe  adjoining  roads.

At the  A.G.M.  held  on  21  May  1976   at  Murston  Welfare  Hall,  amendments were  passed  to  Rule  6  and  extra  committee  members  were  elected.  The committee  saw  several  changes  and  comprised    Chairman:   Rusty  Burgin , General  Secretary:  Colin  Gunn , Treasurer:  Bruce Anderson : Vice  Chairman:  Ray  Oddy ,   Membership Secretary:     Keith  Baldock ,    1000  Club  Secretary:  Ron  Smith ,    Brian  Sherwood,  Brian  Roalf,   Football:   Eddie  Pilgrim,    Cricket: Max  Batchelor , Volleyball:  Fred  Garwood

The youth  were  represented  with  three  teams  U.12, U. 14  and  U.15,  at  first Ron  Smith helped  Brian  Bartlett and Dave  Burrows was  there  to  help.  In  September at  the  Junior  Festival  of  Sport  the  5 a-side  team  came  third.

At the  presentation  dinner  the   Club  Personality  Award   was  once  again  presented  to Marion Gunn and Dave  Burrows  received  the  Burgin Cup   which  is  the  Chairman's  Award.

In April   Steve  Harrison and  Keith  Drury resigned  as  the  Clubs'  Cricket  Captains  due  to  work  commitments and  were  replaced  by   Roy  Jackson and  Ken  Austin . On  29  October  Roy became  the overall  Club  Captain  and  a  new  Chairman  Mark  Whitwood was elected,  Secretary:  Ken  Austin,     Team  Secretary   Eddie  Pilgrim , and  Treasurer  once  again  Mrs.  Whitwood . Dave Barrows was  the  Club's  Cricketer  of  the  Year.

In September  the  Club  suffered  a  great  loss  when   Ron  Smith unexpectedly died,  a  Memorial  Trophy  was  presented  to  Sittingbourne  5 a-side  league by  the  Club  in  Ron's  memory.    Eve  Smith ,  Ron's  wife,  said  she would  like  to  take  over  the  1000  Club  which  she  eventually  did.

In November  a  proposal  by  Keith  Baldock seconded    Eddie  Pilgrim saw  the  Club  open  it's  first deposit  account  with  Nat.  West  Bank  with  a  £500   deposit.  At  the  same time  Keith as Membership  Secretary  reported  142  full  members.

Over the  year  knew  names  had  appeared  some  of  whom  would  eventually  become officers  of  the  Club,  namely  Keith  Baldock,  Brian  Sherwood ,  and   Peter  Scales who  was  the  volleyball  rep.  agreed   at the  meeting  on  4  October  to  become  the  minutes  taker.   Also  on  13 September  it  is  shown  that  another  future  officer  joined  the  Club  when Sandra  Tapp moved  into  Coombe  Drive.